EMPTINESS! 

​In my home, I store memories

beside the vase is the dead butterfly

her whiskers have words of reminiscence

from the French revolution to mercy petitions

they hang from the ceiling mating with asbestos

so that I see them while I dream of enlightenment!


The lockers have piled corpses

with the descendants going for a loot

mirage of being a souvenir slows death

exposed to weed of an ambiguous wisdom

immersed in my dinner plate I taste hypocrisy

we sleep over our own death like an experiment!


Sixteen hundred crore drained

the hymns topple down a Brahmin 

unitedly they organize our big funeral,

some died of suicides, some have knives

they’ve a thing in common, they’re immigrants

their homes have an emptiness to be democracy!


All the massacres are bonsai

they’ve to be grown with lot of care

they’re small but they catch the looks

a banyan tree is scrapped for our leisure

while the Bonsai breeds upon our structures

in the end the plant is the score of a rich father!


Blood covers my big furniture

guests sit and chat over a red hip

I make love with their smell in a kiss

my dreams are red with feet in the tears

every night a new ghost pays me a sacrifice

my pillow has a treasure buried in cockroaches!


I eat meat and stand in dark

immigrants migrate back to hell

here it has been given a free pass

the roads have uniforms slowing cars

they call us idiots, they make stories on us,

we are the devil, there’s a dead Sita in our lap!

_____________________________________________

If you like to share, please do! But be so kind to add the title, my name and a link to my website. Thank you! Varun Vasu Narayanan 

Topics : Poems